Touchplate Not Working

Discussion/questions about software used with your CNC Shark and programming issues

Moderators: sbk, al wolford

Touchplate Not Working

Postby Matt » Sun Jul 30, 2017 12:28 pm

I'm looking for some troubleshooting suggestions on a touchplate problem

I used the touchplate earlier today and now I can not get it to detect. I checked the wire and connections and all look in good repair and are making contact. The Virtual Zero process launches properly but when the plate is touched to the bit it does not stop.
Matt
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 6:53 pm

Re: Touchplate Not Working

Postby Barry Anderson » Sun Jul 30, 2017 4:28 pm

Matt, the times when my touchplate did the same thing, it was either not making good contact on the spindle, or I had partially unplugged the wire from the touchplate.

Barry
Barry Anderson
Anderson Custom Woodwork, Inc.
Barry Anderson
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2014 9:55 pm

Re: Touchplate Not Working

Postby 4DThinker » Wed Aug 09, 2017 7:59 am

I've had the plug end that goes into the plate break contact twice since I bought my Shark. Simple metal fatigue. Be sure and touch the plate to the bit before hitting OK to start the probe. Even that can fool you as the movement may temporarily make contact inside the plug end.
4DThinker
 
Posts: 949
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 9:00 am

Re: Touchplate Not Working

Postby Jim@HeirloomTable » Sat Jun 23, 2018 9:24 am

Our machine's plate stopped detecting, turned out the small wire leading to the magnet had been pulled out of the heat shrink tube on the larger wire end. Next Wave sells replacement cords, about $32 - problem solved, and they have longer heat shrink on the new ones.
Jim Creighton, Partner
Heirloom Table Home, Hopkinsville, KY
Jim@HeirloomTable
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2015 11:17 am
Location: Hopkinsville, Kentucky, USA

Re: Touchplate Not Working

Postby tradewinds » Tue Dec 04, 2018 7:59 am

Late response but it may help someone searching the forum to resolve a similar problem.

I encountered the same problem and contacted NextWave, Russ' answer follows below:

"It's possible that the cable wire broke a connection. If you have a volt/ohm meter the two parts of the headphone jack should have continuity when the magnet touches the plate."

It was in fact a break in the wire that was causing the problem. The suggestion above makes it pretty clear if it is a hardware or software issue.

If you need a new wire it can be purchased from NextWave here: http://shop.nextwaveautomation.com/shop ... ?itemid=82
tradewinds
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2015 6:41 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri


Return to Software. Programming

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests