Need advice

How are other systems alike/different from the Shark?

Moderators: al wolford, sbk, Bob, Kayvon

Chop

Need advice

Post by Chop »

I am 61 and our 16 yr electronic repair business is failing fast along with our livlihood so this is very important to me.
I have ideas for products needed in my trade that would be made of wood, plastic and aluminum that I can sell to my existing repair customer base which in turn would save our company. The items that I am talking about are not very complex and by looking at your forum pictures can be made by a shark cnc, but may have to end up being made from plastic or aluminum.

I have no knowledge of CNC and for that reason was attracted to buying a Carvewright but my concerns were that by doing that it would not help me with experience or knowledge to run a heavier built machine like shopbot in the future. So here is my concerns and questions.

If I buy a Shark CNC will I be able to learn how to use it along with all the software with out returning to school ?
And if I end up needing to buy a shopbot later will my knowledge and experience apply to that machine ?

Thanks in advance for any thoughts or recommendations.

4DThinker

Re: Need advice

Post by 4DThinker »

The Shark line comes with Vcarve Pro and Cut3D. The Shopbots use the same software from the same company, although it is called Partworks: http://www.shopbottools.com/mProducts/P ... atures.htm. So any time spent learning the software that comes with the Shark will apply directly to using a Shopbot.