laser

Discussion about the CNC Shark Pro Plus HD

Moderators: sbk, al wolford

laser

Postby gpeck » Wed Aug 26, 2015 4:20 pm

How hard would it be to install a laser to the shark HD?. I do not know much about laser cutting or what power it would need or where it would get its power from.
gpeck
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2013 1:35 pm

Re: laser

Postby WoodEraser » Thu Aug 27, 2015 6:43 am

Check with next wave as there are now selling the Piranha with a laser and 3D printer heads.
Eric the "WoodEraser"
Sun City Center, Florida

If today were perfect there would be no need for tomorrow.
WoodEraser
 
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 7:07 am

Re: laser

Postby tonybell9699 » Sat Sep 19, 2015 11:30 am

Did Next Wave ever reply to you?
tonybell9699
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2014 9:04 pm

Re: laser

Postby gpeck » Sun Oct 25, 2015 11:29 am

They said they were thinking about it .
gpeck
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2013 1:35 pm

Re: laser

Postby Jim@HeirloomTable » Tue May 24, 2016 10:59 am

We're definitely interested in adding laser capability to our shop. Seems to me that it might be possible to attach a laser head to the system, define the offset from the center of the router, and run that, not having to buy another table, guide and motor movement set.

Anyone heard of this being possible? Thx!
Jim Creighton, Partner
Heirloom Table Home, Hopkinsville, KY
Jim@HeirloomTable
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2015 11:17 am
Location: Hopkinsville, Kentucky, USA

Re: laser

Postby Rando » Tue May 24, 2016 4:55 pm

Jim@HeirloomTable wrote:We're definitely interested in adding laser capability to our shop. Seems to me that it might be possible to attach a laser head to the system, define the offset from the center of the router, and run that, not having to buy another table, guide and motor movement set.

Anyone heard of this being possible? Thx!


Jim: I sent you a PM regarding this question ;-)
=====================================================
ThomR.com Creative tools and photographic art
A proud member of the Pacific Northwest CNC Club (now on Facebook)
Rando
 
Posts: 583
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 3:24 pm
Location: Hoquiam, WA

Re: laser

Postby NewAgent45 » Wed May 25, 2016 6:38 am

If you are running a Shark there is an interface for the laser http://shop.nextwaveautomation.com/shop ... itemid=160 that is available for interfacing the Piranha laser module. Check to make sure your controller is compatible with the interface.

I'm away in vacation. Please excuse the lack of detail.

Hope this helps.
... Rod
User avatar
NewAgent45
 
Posts: 221
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:29 am
Location: Florida, USA

Re: laser

Postby Rando » Wed May 25, 2016 11:57 am

Good find, NewAgent45!

Looks minimally invasive, so not that hard to connect up. I called Tech support and got the low-down. The multi-colored cable plugs into the controller board's router on/off connector (in place of what now goes to the solid-state relay), and then the cables and such go up to the laser controller block. I'm guessing they also say to drill a 1/2" hole and mount the connector in that. The small PCB with connectors attaches to the laser controller board. It does On/Off, but not PWM intensity control, but in many cases that's not so much an issue.

Regards,

Thom
=====================================================
ThomR.com Creative tools and photographic art
A proud member of the Pacific Northwest CNC Club (now on Facebook)
Rando
 
Posts: 583
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 3:24 pm
Location: Hoquiam, WA

Re: laser

Postby NewAgent45 » Wed May 25, 2016 3:15 pm

Thom

I'm seriously thinking of adding the laser to my machine. But, it probably won't be in my buget till later this year.

As I understand the laser power/intensity is modulated from the spindle speed signal.

There are some other posts on this forum that discuss this.

Have a great day!
Rod
User avatar
NewAgent45
 
Posts: 221
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:29 am
Location: Florida, USA

Re: laser

Postby Rando » Thu May 26, 2016 2:33 am

NewAgent45 wrote:Thom

I'm seriously thinking of adding the laser to my machine. But, it probably won't be in my buget till later this year.

As I understand the laser power/intensity is modulated from the spindle speed signal.

There are some other posts on this forum that discuss this.

Have a great day!
Rod


You're right, normally the spindle speed PWM signal sets the laser intensity. Unfortunately for we HD2/3 users, the controller card's PWM output doesn't work. I worked with Joe for several weeks (he does the control panel programming) trying to get the PWM signal to work, and we were not able to make it work on the HD-series controllers. Piranha controllers I believe do have this, so maybe that's what they're talking about.

Regards,

Thom
=====================================================
ThomR.com Creative tools and photographic art
A proud member of the Pacific Northwest CNC Club (now on Facebook)
Rando
 
Posts: 583
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 3:24 pm
Location: Hoquiam, WA

Next

Return to CNC Shark Pro Plus HD

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests