2d to 3d

Anything and everything CNC-Shark-related

Moderators: ddw, al wolford, sbk, Bob, Kayvon

TexasCowboy

2d to 3d

Post by TexasCowboy »

I am new to cnc router operation and haven't even bought one yet, but I am looking at the Shark Pro plus HD. What will I have to do, if it is even possible, to turn a two dimensional drawing into a three dimensional carving.

tonydude

Re: 2d to 3d

Post by tonydude »

Go to www.vectric.com and download the trail versions of the programs and view the tutorials for them. This way you will know how to run the programs when you get the machine. To go from 2d to 3d use aspire or you can buy the 3d models from http://www.vectorart3d.com/

Tony

Dash

Post by Dash »

Hey, Tex... Where are you Located?

sk8nmike

Post by sk8nmike »

Hey Tex, I'm going to interupt your thread for a monent. You and Dash might be interested in this. The Rockler Store in Plano has started a Shark users group, we meet the first Tuesday of each month 7:00 PM at the Rockler Store.

Now back to your thread..

Tex, if you're thinking of a program the will render a 2d object into a 3d object I'm afraid you won't find it, I know I'd like to. Patterns to carve come 4 ways, you draw them yourself, you scan them with a touch probe or a 3d scanner, or you buy them from someone else or you find a freebe.

I've gone through several programs (MOI, Silo, Blender, ZBrush, MeshCAM and a few custom programs) and for the money Aspire is hard to beat. You can get a trial package at Vectric.com

Dash

Post by Dash »

Sk8nmike...
Hey there...Thanks for the info. Don't get to DFW for reasons you know. May have to start. Like to shake your hand...
Sure are gonna look that address up and go shopping. Everythings better in person.
The info is great to know about changing 2d to 3d...Never thought about it.