Cutting out parts in red oak

Anything and everything CNC-Shark-related

Moderators: ddw, al wolford, sbk, Bob, Kayvon

kojacksback

Cutting out parts in red oak

Post by kojacksback »

Hello all, I recently just purchased my Shark pro plus a month ago and have been trying to cut parts out of 3/4" red oak. Might there be anybody with some suggestions on this? I have tried using an upcut 1/4" spiral bit and after the first couple passes I start having problems with vibrations and the whole router starts to vibrate or jump up and down. I have tried 1/8" passes and 1/16" passes and either way the same thing. I have also tried a 1/4" 2 flute straight bit however the sawdust ends up getting packed in and the edges turn out sorta messy. I am rather new to this and would greatly appreciate any suggestions.

CountryWoodCrafts

Re: Cutting out parts in red oak

Post by CountryWoodCrafts »

Cutting too fast will cause the jumping and chatter. Go into your toolpath and edit the speed. Harder woods require slower speeds . . .

kojacksback

Post by kojacksback »

Yup, I have had to slow the feed speed down to about 15 and using passes of 1/16th to get rid of the chatter. However doesn't going this slow shorten the router bits life due to heat? i'm still trying to figure out the whole feed speed and RPM's. Also is a 1/4" carbide upcut spiral the best to use in this application?

CountryWoodCrafts

Post by CountryWoodCrafts »

As long as your not charring the wood . . .it should not harm the bit. . .

kojacksback

Post by kojacksback »

Sounds good, Thanks for your input.

Dan Sharp

Post by Dan Sharp »

I was on the verge of purchasing the shark pro plus until I read these comments. I have a business oportunity to make deer mounts for a company, but that requires cutting 3/4 red oak fairly consistently and quickly. If the machine can't do that, I will need to look elswhere.

REG

Post by REG »