Help with feed rate and pass depth

Anything and everything CNC-Shark-related

Moderators: ddw, al wolford, sbk, Bob, Kayvon

Mimbler

Help with feed rate and pass depth

Post by Mimbler »

I would really appreciate some advice from some of you experienced folks. I am new to CNC having purchased a piranha. I have successfully modeled a classical guitar bridge I want to cut out of rosewood. It needs to be cut with .125 endmills (flat and ballnose). I have tentatively set the pass depth as .0625 and speeds at 30 inches/minute which I "think" is conservative as I need a good surface finish. The calculated times are pretty high for such a small piece, but I can live with that if these seem appropriate to those with experience. The wood is pretty expensive so I would like to be in the ball park on the first try. Does this seem reasonable? I just don't have a feel for these tiny bits!
Mike

drueth

Re: Help with feed rate and pass depth

Post by drueth »

Mimbler

Rosewood is expensive and very hard. So I would do some practice cut's on a much cheaper wood, I do not have a piranha so I do not have a feel for what will work best on you machine, but I think 30 inches/minute should work fine to start I would think it should be able to do 50 with no problem. What I have found to work is to set it at a faster rate in Vcarve and than move the fro down before I start the cut. That way if it is running OK you can move the speed up. If you can find some hard maple or cherry I would work with them until you are happy with how the cuts turn out.

Good luck.
drueth
Shark Pro Plus HD
new to CNC 12/2012

Mimbler

Post by Mimbler »