Open Vector's

Anything and everything CNC-Shark-related

Moderators: ddw, al wolford, sbk, Bob, Kayvon

Iwejan

Open Vector's

Post by Iwejan »

Please help. I'm new to the use of a CNC. I have watched as many video's and tutorials as I can find, but apparently must have missed one or two as I cannot get my first project completed. The project is nothing more than a 5.5 X 16 inch flat sign with two lines of text using the Helvicka font. Everytime I attempt to perform the toolpath for the sign I get a notice window that says I have nine open vector's and need to close them.

PLEASE...how do I get to the point of finishing this sign for my grandson and learning something at the same time?

Thanks for you anticipated response's.

Iwejan

BillK

Re: Open Vector's

Post by BillK »

Any other shapes or lines or just text?
BillK
http://www.Facebook.com/CarvingsbyKurtz
Instagram: carvingsbykurtz
Twitter: @CBKwoodcarver

drueth

Post by drueth »

Iwejan

To find all the "OPEN" vectors go to the tab for edit at the top left of the screen and pick Select all open vectors This will cause the program to change the "open" vectors to the color they would be if you had selected a vector. If it turn out the "OPEN" vectors that the program high light are the "lines" or something you have drawn then I you have to guess you are trying to select say a V-Carve tool path an a line. ( not all tool paths can deal with an open vector like a line would be )

If you can post the file someone will point out the problem in greater detail.
drueth
Shark Pro Plus HD
new to CNC 12/2012

jimsr1959

Post by jimsr1959 »

If it is a single line font you have to use the profile do it.

Iwejan

Post by Iwejan »