Possible Controller and/or Mechanical Issues with an HD3

Anything and everything CNC-Shark-related

Moderators: ddw, al wolford, sbk, Bob, Kayvon

Viper500

Possible Controller and/or Mechanical Issues with an HD3

Post by Viper500 »

I have a Shark HD3-I bought it from Rockler-and am experiencing a couple of problems. Got it in December or January. It has the 2.1 control panel. I am new to CNCs and needed a project so I decided to do a cribbage board. It is 5.5" x 20". I oriented the project so that the 20" was left to right. I dumbed it down so it only uses two tool paths. I am using VCarve Desktop 8. The text and lines were done with a 60 degree V bit using a V carve toolpath and the holes were done with an 1/8" end mill and a drill toolpath. I am on version 10 or more due to issues I have found along the way with my design. It is one of those things that look good on the screen but it couldn't be built. I have those issues resolved and am now trying to make the final product.

Problem #1.
Everything seemed to be working but then I noticed that the drilled holes were elliptical and not round like they should be. They are 0.125" in the X plane but 0.144" in the Y plane. I reviewed the G code and there doesn't seem to be anything wrong with it. Rockler has a CNC club and I presented this issue to the members and they suggested that there might be some mechanical play in the Y axis, but I can't find any. All the holes are identical. I don't seem to be having a problem with the text or the lines.

Problem #2
The project requires two tool paths: a V Carve and a drill. I have been doing the V Carve first and then load in the drill toolpath. Twice now, as soon as the new drill code starts loading the gantry goes to the upper right corner of the bed and crashes. I have to hit the E Stop power button on my system.

Could I have a defective controller? Could these two issues be related? Any ideas?

Thanks.

Mike Timmerman

rungemach