Z axis calibration out by a scale factor!

Anything and everything CNC-Shark-related

Moderators: ddw, al wolford, sbk, Bob, Kayvon

mACca

Z axis calibration out by a scale factor!

Post by mACca »

Hello People, first post here.

I'm having an issue with the Cnc Shark hd3 at my local wood workers club. The x and Y axis's seem to be in calibration fine but the z axis seems to be out by a scale of 2.4. for example when i told it to move up an inch in the step menu, it raised itself 2.4inches.

The issue is also present when running a g code file.

Apologies if its an easy fix as I'm just beginning, but usually computers are my thing and this has got me stumped.

Cheers

Rando

Re: Z axis calibration out by a scale factor!

Post by Rando »

I'd check the control panel settings for "steps per millimeter".

Open the control panel (v2) and type Ctrl-G, then enter the password "787". This is not the same as the Preferences dialog.
Check the values for X, Y and Z; they should be all the same, but one might be negative.

All the stepper motors are 220 steps per revolution, and the lead screws are 1/4" per turn. Yes, if you measure an inch of length on along the lead screws you'll find it looks like 8 TPI. But, there are two threads, so it's really 1/4" per turn.

On mine, the numbers are horrendously bizarre fractional numbers: +/-157.48031496063. I'm sure they calculate out somewhere, but they look like irrational numbers to me! ;-)

If you also have the 4th axis, mine is set as 33.334 for the steps per degree. If an axis value is wrong, that might be also.

Here's a screen shot of mine. IMPORTANT: ignore the +/- on mine, because I swapped the X and Y axes!
Control Panel Settings
Control Panel Settings
And who knows...maybe just clicking "Reset to Default" will get you there!

Hopefully that will help. The alternatives have more to do with broken wires going to the motors, so hopefully it's not that.

Regards,

Thom