HD4 Touch plate

Anything and everything CNC-Shark-related

Moderators: ddw, al wolford, sbk, Bob, Kayvon

jaces

HD4 Touch plate

Post by jaces »

I'm new to cnc machines and I am using the pendant on the HD4 to run the machine till I get a dedicated computer to use with it. The issue I have with the touch plate is between changing bits, say I start with a V bit and use the touch plate to find Z zero and cut out some letters when finished it goes back to center I change to a tapered ball nose for finer detail then use the touch plate to find Z zero again. now all three axis are good for zero but when I move the machine back to 0,0,0 which is bottom right corner it drives the bit down roughly.375 past Z zero which destroys the corner of my work piece. Just looking for any insight from anyone that has a HD4 using the pendant to control, and the process they use for finding Z zero with the touch plate. With my inexperience I could be doing it wrong.
Thanks in advance for any help.

SteveM

Re: HD4 Touch plate

Post by SteveM »

jaces:
Are you resetting zero after you change bits and are you connecting the touch plate cord into the control box or the pendant?
The touch plate should plug into the control box and you shouldn't reset X or Y again, just zero the bit.
As for using the computer, look through the forum! Most have been having problems with the HD4 when connected to a computer.
The machine was really made to be used with the pendant.

jaces

Post by jaces »