Bit above project

Anything and everything CNC-Shark-related

Moderators: ddw, sbk, al wolford

Bit above project

Postby smudricks » Tue Feb 27, 2018 10:14 pm

When I zero out my project it still picks the bit up above the wood and begins to "cut the air". I have tried what I know to fix this and it still does it. Does it with the touch plate as well. Please help, Thanks!!
smudricks
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 7:16 pm

Re: Bit above project

Postby Bob » Tue Feb 27, 2018 10:58 pm

The first, and easiest thing that I would check is where your z zero is set.
To the table, or the work surface?
z.PNG
(7.35 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Bob
User avatar
Bob
 
Posts: 1083
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2010 3:35 pm

Re: Bit above project

Postby smudricks » Wed Feb 28, 2018 9:32 am

Using the touch plate, shouldn’t it zero it out correctly?
smudricks
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 7:16 pm

Re: Bit above project

Postby Barry Anderson » Wed Feb 28, 2018 10:38 am

You are correct. The touch plate should set the z zero correctly. I would check to see where the starting cut height in the toolpath is set.
Barry Anderson
Anderson Custom Woodwork, Inc.
Barry Anderson
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2014 9:55 pm

Re: Bit above project

Postby Rando » Wed Feb 28, 2018 10:46 am

smudricks wrote:Using the touch plate, shouldn’t it zero it out correctly?


Might want to also verify the system correctly knows the thickness of the touchplate, and is compensating correctly.

Also, shameless plug for a backplotter / GCODE editor: GWizard- Editor (http://www.cnccookbook.com). It's great, and you can see EXACTLY where that bit is going to go. Their main product is the feeds-and-speeds calculator, thus its prominence on that front page.

Cheers!

Thom
=====================================================
ThomR.com Creative tools and photographic art
A proud member of the Pacific Northwest CNC Club (now on Facebook)
Rando
 
Posts: 583
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 3:24 pm
Location: Hoquiam, WA

Re: Bit above project

Postby Bob » Wed Feb 28, 2018 11:48 am

If your machine is setup for z zero on the machine bed, and you're using the material surface for z zero instead, You will do air cuts. That's why I wanted to check and see where your z zero is, in material setup for this project. It's just an easy first check.
Still curious,
Bob
User avatar
Bob
 
Posts: 1083
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2010 3:35 pm


Return to CNC Shark

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Kayvon and 4 guests