Adding a flycutter bit to vcarve pro

Anything and everything CNC-Shark-related

Moderators: ddw, sbk, al wolford

Adding a flycutter bit to vcarve pro

Postby Jepetto » Sat May 04, 2019 1:12 pm

I'm having trouble inserting a new flycutter bit to do a spoilboard. I know how to insert a basic bit but this one is stumping me. Can someone guide me thru this process. I've attached the bit below that I have
Attachments
Screenshot_20190504-130444_Samsung Internet.jpg
Jepetto
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2019 1:45 am

Re: Adding a flycutter bit to vcarve pro

Postby Barry Anderson » Sat May 04, 2019 8:36 pm

When I added a similar bit, I just set it up as an 1 1/4" end mill. Might not be the best way but it works for me.
Barry Anderson
Anderson Custom Woodwork, Inc.
Barry Anderson
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2014 9:55 pm

Re: Adding a flycutter bit to vcarve pro

Postby OCEdesigns » Thu May 09, 2019 8:40 am

I have not done it yet but I will probably do the same and just add it as an endmill. As long as the cutting diameter is correct so it knows how much to move for step over you will be ok.
Shark HD4 Extended Bed, Water Cooled Spindle. VCarve Pro 9.5
OCEdesigns
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2019 8:26 am

Re: Adding a flycutter bit to vcarve pro

Postby bill z » Fri May 17, 2019 8:16 am

Like Berry said, just add it as a 1 1/4" end mill. Keep the RPMs down.

Just know that with large diameter bits like this, it will show any miss alignments regarding your Z axis. Any 1/4 degree of tilt will now be noticeable. Do a couple of short passes both X and Y to be sure all alignments are good or you could spoil your spoil board.
User avatar
bill z
 
Posts: 296
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 9:09 am
Location: Spring, Texas USA


Return to CNC Shark

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron