Carving Photographs

Browse around for inspiration, or share your work to inspire others!

Moderators: al wolford, sbk, Bob, Kayvon

Michael Rabin

Carving Photographs

Post by Michael Rabin »

I wanted to post this since I haven't found anyone else posting similar work. I am sure others are doing this but being new to CNC I couldn't find anyone who had posted it here or on other forums. First a word of my background. I am a model ship builder and I was looking for a milling machine to cut model parts when I discovered the Cut and Carve. I was fascinated by the thought of converting pictures to bas reliefs. I thought it would be easy. As I researched I decided that I wanted a real CNC and bought the smallest Shark. Initially I was excited and bought photoVcarve only to discover it was really an etching program. Etching is great but not what I wanted. I started researching it and was told by several people that what I wanted to do couldn't be done. After spending a month researching it, asking advice and generally becoming disillusioned I discovered that there was hope. I have no cam background, no photo shop background, no real artistic background. I wasn't going to sink another thousand dollars into a cam program nor was I going to spend 8-900 on photoshop. I had an epiphany when I discovered that people were using grayscaling interchangeably with heightmapping. They are the same but they are also very different. I am going to nit pick. Grayscaling is converting a photo into a black and white picture. It is useless for carving. Height mapping is creating a grayscale map in which the computer program assigns Z axis values based on the shade of gray. I also discovered GIMP, a program that is essentially a free photoshop (If you haven't already downloaded it do so now even if you aren't currently interested in doing what I am doing). When I had this epiphany I discovered the web site CNCforFree. It led me to You Tube videos by Walter Vasquez who teaches how to use GIM