Need some help with a lithophane

Browse around for inspiration, or share your work to inspire others!

Moderators: al wolford, sbk, Bob, Kayvon

mchurchf

Need some help with a lithophane

Post by mchurchf »

This is my first attempt at a lithophane and I could use some suggestions. There are some folks here that do some fantastic work I sure could use their help. I used PVC using all the settings Tony had posted on how to do a lithophane. The lower right side of the picture started out fine, but as the cut progressed you can see the lines in the corian that the ball nose didn't remove. I used .25inch corian and the touchplate was used to set the Z on the corian.
A .125 endmill and a .0625 Ballnose were used for the cut. I put a level on the corian before cutting and it was slightly off level but I didn't think it would make that much difference on a 9x6 piece, I could be wrong. I also used 3M two sided tape to hold the corian on the table. I hope I have enough info that someone had already experienced the same and can help me. Is there any suggestions on the picture itself? Thanks in advance
Attachments
pgfb.jpg

Keith Hodges

Re: Need some help with a lithophane

Post by Keith Hodges »

You say you used a .125 endmill, then .0625 ball nose. I'd use ball nose for both rough and finish. I normally use .125 for both with great results, but some photos just have too much detail, so I'll use .0625 for the finish. The finish pass should be dropped .03 to on its start depth so it will remove the lines that are showing on yours. Hope this helps. Keith.
Being retired is hard work. Spending way too much time in the shop these days. (And loving it).
Shark Pro Plus HD, Vcarve Pro, Photo V Carve, Cut 3D, scan probe.

tonydude

Post by tonydude »