Page 1 of 1

Setting/Saving permanent home x,y?

Posted: Tue Mar 23, 2021 7:48 am
by wipiid
Is it possible to set or save a permanent home x,y position?
I like to work from corners and would like to be able to place jigs/fences then register my parts against the fence instead of random space. is there a way to have the shark save a home point to recall later?

Re: Setting/Saving permanent home x,y?

Posted: Tue Mar 23, 2021 10:55 am
by Kayvon
Sadly, no. You'd need to install your own limit switch system to get precise repeatability in placement each time.

The closest I've gotten is turning off the machine, not moving it, then turning it on the next day. It winds up in the same position, but it's possible to gain/lose a step on the motors when starting up. This is fine for some applications, like making wood signs. It's not precise enough for others, like precision aluminum milling (Hi, Rando!).

Re: Setting/Saving permanent home x,y?

Posted: Tue Mar 23, 2021 4:41 pm
by Rando
LOL....Hi Kayvon! Fancy seeing you here :D

And for me, I just leave it on. I'm pretty sure the last time I intentionally turned it off was last summer. maybe July?
The computer reboots whenever Microsoft insists for an update, but as far as I know, I don't ever lose steps.

When I do turn it off, the Z-axis used to slowly drift down (it doesn't now), and I'd "park" the head on a block of foam
with most of the weight just counterbalanced.

But yeah, other than that, if it's off it might move :(

Regards,

Rando

Re: Setting/Saving permanent home x,y?

Posted: Tue Apr 06, 2021 1:47 pm
by wipiid
I have found that even there is no permanent “home” there is an x,y zero app that will home to the lower left corner from within 3-4”. You can then set an offset to get to your corner.

Edit: this is on the HD520 extended