Buying Vector Art

Discussion specifically about the Shark's bigger brother, the CNC Shark Pro

Moderators: al wolford, sbk, Bob, Kayvon

lazym

Buying Vector Art

Post by lazym »

I am still REALLY new at this so please bear with me. I have had my machine for two weeks now CNC Shark Pro) and I can only carve letters in the wood. I didn't think I was that stupid. I tried to make a plaque for our neighbor with letters on it and two squares (one on either side) that are cut out about 1/16 of an inch. I have read and watched training stuff many times and am now getting frustrated. The letters cut out fine. When the machine is done, I change bits to the 1/4 in. flat cutter, lower the bit back down to the wood, load the second, square cut, click on the XYZ.. thingy to reset everything to zero and start carving. The cutter goes right to my letters and wipes them out.

How can I cut two squares into the wood? I want to put two 3" x 3" squares (one on either side) and have them cut all the wood out within the square to a depth of around 1/16th of an inch.

From everything I have read and watched, this machine (VCarve Pro) can do just about everything. And, of course, I want to do it all. Also, do I need to buy all the programs that Vecor Art sells? I see they have a sale on if you buy two or three at one time, you save money. But that cost over three hundred dollars. Would I be paying to be able to do more stuff or to buy art that can be carved?

Thanks for listening,
Wayne

jeb2cav
Site Admin

Re: First Plaque Project

Post by jeb2cav »

Hi Wayne,

Can you attach your VectorPro crv file to this thread? I'd be glad to give it a look and see if I can help.

GARYR6

Re: Buying Vector Art

Post by GARYR6 »

No you don't have to buy it all.