Y Axis jerks

Discussion about the CNC Shark Pro Plus

Moderators: al wolford, sbk, Bob, Kayvon

theremin

Y Axis jerks

Post by theremin »

Hi,

Another newbie here--I received my Shark Pro Plus earlier this week and have been working on getting it set up. I was relieved to see that UPS didn't dump the boxes in the yard or throw them about or anything else like some of the stories I've read (whew!) In fact, everything arrived in perfect shape, and even without a helper I didn't have any problems putting it together and get it up and running in an afternoon. Here's my question though--the X and Z axes both work perfectly smoothly, but the Y axis has a noticeable jerk to it as it runs, especially at higher speeds (but is noticeable even when running slow). It's not terrible, but you can definitely feel the jerking at the gantry. The rails and leadscrew are perfectly clean. I'm wondering if it is some kind of alignment issue where maybe something got knocked out of whack in transit. Is there some procedure for alignment of the leadscrew/nut that I need to go through?

Thanks!
Dave

Tim Owens

Re: Y Axis jerks

Post by Tim Owens »

I would not think an alignment. I would spray the shafts with dupont silicon telfon spray (or any silicon spray) and this should fix your issue if it is a contamination on the rails.

Thanks

Tim

theremin

Post by theremin »

Thanks Tim--I hit the shafts with a little silicone spray, and there is no difference. Maybe "jerking" isn't the right word--it sort of pulses along, shakes as it moves. The other two axes don't do this, and Y does it mostly at higher speeds. I don't know if this is normal behavior for the Y axis or not since I'm new to this stuff. Just to test, I swapped the X and Y axis at the controller, and it stayed with the Y axis on the machine, not the Y output of the controller, so it isn't a controller issue. Any other ideas?

Thanks,
Dave

theremin

Post by theremin »