Rough cut too deep

Discussion about the CNC Shark Pro Plus

Moderators: sbk, al wolford

Rough cut too deep

Postby Hitch » Tue Nov 07, 2017 12:47 am

I've had this happen on two occasions now. Carve a beautiful 3d image rough and finish (VCarve Pro V9) the first time and the next the rough cut is too deep. Time wasted - 4 hours. Any suggestions as to the cause?

Ron
Hitch
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2010 5:33 pm

Re: Rough cut too deep

Postby tonydude » Tue Nov 07, 2017 8:24 pm

If you hit your upper limits on the z axis you will lose your z zero. It thinks it's still moving but in reality it's not, but the computer thinks it is. therefor if you think it's at say 1.5 but the machine thinks it's at 2 and the next time you use it, it's not where you think it is. You must rezero your z axis. I hope I explained it.

Tony
Buffalo,NY

"What will matter is not what you bought but what you built; not what you got, but what you gave”

Aspire 8.511, photo vcarve, cnc mako shark extended bed, control panel 2.1
tonydude
 
Posts: 1418
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 9:23 am
Location: Buffalo,NY

Re: Rough cut too deep

Postby Hitch » Tue Nov 07, 2017 11:58 pm

Not sure I understand. For the second piece, I set the bit on the starting point and zero all 3 axis's and run the program. I can tell immediately that it's going to deep. Looking for oil?
Hitch
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2010 5:33 pm

Re: Rough cut too deep

Postby tonydude » Wed Nov 08, 2017 9:43 am

Is the z axis zero set on top of material or bottom of material?

Tony
Buffalo,NY

"What will matter is not what you bought but what you built; not what you got, but what you gave”

Aspire 8.511, photo vcarve, cnc mako shark extended bed, control panel 2.1
tonydude
 
Posts: 1418
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 9:23 am
Location: Buffalo,NY

Re: Rough cut too deep

Postby Bob » Wed Nov 15, 2017 9:52 am

Hitch wrote:I've had this happen on two occasions now. Carve a beautiful 3d image rough and finish (VCarve Pro V9) the first time and the next the rough cut is too deep. Time wasted - 4 hours. Any suggestions as to the cause?

Ron

Ron,
I have two questions:
Did you use the same thickness material for each carving?
What is the clearance (Z1) and Home/start Z gap set at?
The answers to these two questions could support what Tony is saying.
Bob
User avatar
Bob
 
Posts: 1065
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2010 3:35 pm

Re: Rough cut too deep

Postby Rando » Thu Nov 16, 2017 12:47 pm

Another part of the puzzle is: how deep is too deep? Is the difference between the two carvings on the order of tenths of an inch? Or is it larger, like 2 inches?

One thing to remember if we're talking about a v-bit carving with a 60- or 90-degree bit, variations in height produce very pronounced changes in line width. So if, say, one board was mounted warp "up" and the other warp "down", and there was say a 0.050" height difference (not uncommon in large, unplaned wood panels), then a cut that was 0.025" deep would change dramatically if that shape isn't either accounted for, or removed. I wonder if that might be part of the problem?

Regards,

Thom
=====================================================
ThomR.com Creative tools and photographic art
A proud member of the Pacific Northwest CNC Club (now on Facebook)
Rando
 
Posts: 462
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 3:24 pm
Location: Hoquiam, WA


Return to Shark Pro Plus

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest