Levelling issues

Anything and everything CNC-Shark-related

Moderators: ddw, al wolford, sbk, Bob, Kayvon

Butcherman

Levelling issues

Post by Butcherman »

I have been doing a lot of carvings and engravings for the last 4-5 months and all of the sudden, after leveling the wood on the table, will only engrave the bottom half and completely miss the upper half. Then I go and run the tool path again and I recognize that it is missing the top by almost an 1/8 of an inch and then about a 1/16 of an inch off the bottom. I am not that experienced and trying to trouble shoot. Please tell me this is not common for a 4,000.00 piece of equipment without accessories. Crazy, right. Someone from next wave gave me some things to do and getting ready to try them. I hope you are able to help as I never heard back from next wave on my 2nd email. Of course they never returned my 2 phone calls from today as well. Please help!!!

jeb2cav
Site Admin

Re: Levelling issues

Post by jeb2cav »

When it does this - after the job is complete, and it returns to the home position. Immediately have it Move to 0,0,0. Is the Z position at Z0 - or did it shift up or down?

If it is not the same as it was when you set it prior to starting the job, I'd look first at the motor/lead screw collar nuts and ensure they are tight and the screw is against the flat part of the lead screw.

If I understand you correctly, you've just recently started experiencing this error in carving outcome.

drueth

Post by drueth »

Butcherman

One other member just had a problem with how he was placing the clamps. If you have not added support bars under your table the board and the clamp foot must be on the same rail else the clamp can destort the table and make it twist up or down.