Shark vs. Carvewright (CW)

Anything and everything CNC-Shark-related

Moderators: ddw, al wolford, sbk, Bob, Kayvon

JWBosworth

Shark vs. Carvewright (CW)

Post by JWBosworth »

Boy, am I in a quandary. I'm a Luthier who has made stringed instruments for a few years now - all by hand but with the help of some serious power tools. I now have an opportunity to supply a large number of cigar box ukulele to a tobacco store chain in NYC. So I'm looking into small CNC carvers to help me "mass" produce items such as necks and engrave logos on headstocks and soundboards. i have read reviews until I'm blue in the face about CNC Shark and CW. i see merits in both. CW does have a lot of negative comments that are 'supposedly' rectified by their new "C" model.

The price between the CNCShark and the CW isn't all that much different. So I need some honest opinions from those of you out there who have tried both of these machines. In some ways, the CW has too many limits (relatively small workpiece), the workpiece moves (introduces errors), proprietary bits, 'easy to use' software (but too easy with few adjustment features), history of mechanical issues, etc. The Shark has more capacity, have to buy a router additional, workpiece doesn't move (good thing), capable software (but really hard to learn), relatively inexpensive add-on software (Cut-3D), etc.

I really like the CW software as a beginner to this activity but I also like the more professional software bundled with the Shark - I just haven't been able to figure it out just yet.

As I said above, can anyone give me reasons one way or the other as to which system is going to meet my needs now and into the future?

Thanks,
Jeff
http://jwbosworthguitars.com

kghinsr

Re: Shark vs. Carvewright (CW)

Post by kghinsr »

Jeff
I also looked at a CW before I bought the shark
I was not in favor of the software that came with the CW
it was to limited for the woodwork I do