MISSING STEPS IN X,Y,Z AXIS

Discussion specifically about the Shark's bigger brother, the CNC Shark Pro

Moderators: al wolford, sbk, Bob, Kayvon

richbat

MISSING STEPS IN X,Y,Z AXIS

Post by richbat »

My Shark is in an unheated garage (I do have a gas heater but it takes time to warm up the shop). I have been using the Shark on a regular basis for the past several months with no problems. Since the weather has turned cold I have noticed occasions where I get some significant errors in the x,y or z axis while carving. Can the temperature play a part in this? If so , how do I compensate? If not the temperature what other things should I look for in order to prevent these errors?

Thanks

jeb2cav
Site Admin

Re: MISSING STEPS IN X,Y,Z AXIS

Post by jeb2cav »

Hi - I've been thinking about your post, and suspect that at a certain temperature, the rods the gantry rides on are going to be affected by cold temperatures. I don't have a lot of direct experience with this type of machine and cold weather, but I doubt the designers intended it to perform within certain temperature tolerances. Certainly below freezing or less would cause some movement of the rods the gantry rides on for example.

Another possible source is your waste table - or table worksurface - again a result of the cold/frozen conditions. Warming back to 50 or so I would think would address most of the "metal" issues. If your table surface is wood of some sort, even after thawing out, you may need to take steps to level it off.

I lost heat to my shop this week. It did get well below freezing and I did take a few token measurements - the table was "off" in several areas from my last check.

It could also be less an issue of expansion due to the cold and more an issue of poor lubrication/frozen dust particles in the spirals and along the travel rods. This would cause some "sticking" in movement and thus bad x,y,z outcomes. Again, no extensive direct experience, just some educated speculation.

Tim Owens