newbie wishes inlay help for ill wife of good friend

Discussion about the CNC Shark Pro Plus

Moderators: al wolford, sbk, Bob, Kayvon

Cold Smoke

newbie wishes inlay help for ill wife of good friend

Post by Cold Smoke »

Hello to all,and thanks in advance for any consideration and help. I am a new recipient of a Shark pro plus which I purchased with one major purpose. This was to finally finish a cutting board with an inlay on the face side. I have done so using a scroll saw on a thin face and then banding the edges, yet the result was not what I wished to give. This is a gift for the wife of a good friend of mine, and she has also become a friend. She has some silly disease I had never heard of before and not expected to survive many more years, perhaps only months. Since I am new to the configuration of the software, I will be very specific. I am using a maple blank for the board 22 x 10 1/2 " and 1 1/4" thick. I wish to inlay a piece of purple heart, now 16 1/2 x 6 1/2 x 3/8 but I could make another size if needed. I wish to use the script font Mutulu Ornamental with I suspect a 4 1/2" height. Her name Is Marilynn, yet her family refers to her as Maire, which I will use. I am equiped with the 1/2" 90 degree bit and also with several 1/8 x 45 degree fluted bits. I have made a few attempt of configuration, yet this is all so new and I would prefer to finish this project and then catch my breath. I also own a radial arm and a large band saw, and a dual drum sander which I suspect would finish the production. Any help would be so appreciated. Please forgive my arrogance, but I do not really wish a link to a similar project. If someone special could perhaps walk me through the appropriate steps, I, and hopefully others would appreciate it. Thanks all, Cold Smoke

sk8nmike

Re: newbie wishes inlay help for ill wife of good friend

Post by sk8nmike »