LOOKING FOR ADVICE

Discussion about the CNC Shark Pro Plus

Moderators: al wolford, sbk, Bob, Kayvon

dalet51

LOOKING FOR ADVICE

Post by dalet51 »

Interested in getting a cnc to do signs, inlays. I understand this is a shark site, so it might be bias toward that machine. But what should I be looking for in a machine. Which is a good machine to start with. What are the differences in the machines as the prices rise. Any thought would be appreciated.

Eagle55

Re: LOOKING FOR ADVICE

Post by Eagle55 »

There will be all kinds of advice pop up. You are right that this is a Shark site so most everyone here is going to have one or they wouldn't likely be here or stay around. Also many, if not most, of the people here are only going to have experience with a Shark and little else in the CNC field. I am in that category. I have been using mine for about 3 1/2 years and love it. It is not without its faults but I think that is going to be the same for any machine. I do think that there are some problems that could have been solved before now but that's a whole different discussion. Things you need to consider are things like is the machine big enough... the Shark HD or whatever the "big" machine is, is the only one that I would recommend buying these days and it is limited to a 25"x25" cutting area. Larger signs can be done in multiple "tile" by moving the material down and cutting another section. If I had it to do all over again, would I buy the Shark?? I tend to think I would although if I had more money I might go for a machine with stronger materials using more metal and steel as opposed to HDP plastic frame work. But again, I didn't have 4 or 5,000 more to spend so I would be right back where I am with the Shark. The Axiom that Rockler is beginning to sell is about the same price and possibly looks like a better machine but I don't think it comes with the software so you are again going to be about another $1000 before you have the same package as the Shark. If I