Increasing usable workspace size (larger cutting area)

Discussion about the CNC Shark Pro Plus

Moderators: al wolford, sbk, Bob, Kayvon

mcsteve

Increasing usable workspace size (larger cutting area)

Post by mcsteve »

I have been working with my Shark Pro Plus off and on for the past 3 years. I have made a lot of sawdust, a few nice projects for around the house (clocks, shoe racks etc) and have gotten pretty good at doing lythophanes. However, the usable workspace size of this system is very limiting for the type of project I would really like to use it for (live edge table tops etc.).

I have looked through this section of the board and have not found any posts of people making their cutting area larger. Has anyone done this and if so, posted about what they did and what was needed? I am wondering if I should sell the shark and purchase a larger table (4x4 or 4x8) or if a project to enlarge my existing Shark to a 4x4 cutting area would be feasible.

Thanks in advance for any advice, or links to posts I may have not found yet.

Steve
CNC Shark Pro Plus - 12/2014
VCarve Pro, PhotoVCarve, Cut3D
ViaCAD 3D, AutoCAD, Sketchup
BobCAD V28

Rando

Re: Increasing usable workspace size (larger cutting area)

Post by Rando »

mcsteve:

If I had to guess, I'd say because the amount of work and cost would actually be more than a new machine in that size.

When you include that steppers and controller electronics are CHEAP now (by comparison to a decade ago), if what you're doing is getting new mechanical/structural bits, then you're likely better off getting new electronics. That way the old machine is still running while the new one is being constructed.

The primary reason people don't much with enlarging the axes' range might come down to: